Join us as we celebrate honorees
Annie Philbin and Lisa Phillips
for their extraordinary contributions to the cultural landscape.

MAY 29, 2024

7:00 p.m.
Cocktails with passed hors d’oeuvres

8:00 p.m.
Action Maverick Award Presentation and STREB EXTREME ACTION Performance

Co-Chaired by Marcy Carsey and Adam Weinberg 

STREB Lab for Action Mechanics, Williamsburg, Brooklyn

STREB’s Action Maverick Art Auction is OPEN!

Auction is open Now through May 29, 2024 09:30PM EDT

To view and bid the full selection of exclusive artworks from our generous donors visit HERE.

Online auction powered by BIDSQUARE.

STREB’s Action Maverick Award Benefit celebrates the heroes who inspire us, and serves as our signature fundraising event, helping us to pursue our mission and sustain our entire organization. Funds raised support Elizabeth Streb’s groundbreaking work through the STREB Extreme Action Company’s performances, which take place at our home in Brooklyn and around the world; our educational partnerships and community engagement programs that inspire and empower the Action Heroes and leaders of tomorrow; and, it ensures accessibility by supporting our scholarship and ticket subsidy programs.

For more information, to get involved, or to donate contact Shannon Reynolds at

Meet our 2024 Action Mavericks


As director of the Hammer Museum at UCLA, Ann Philbin has built a renowned exhibition program, a strong and distinctive institutional identity, and an international reputation for scholarly excellence and cutting-edge programming. Major programs launched since her arrival in 1999 include the acclaimed Hammer Projects series showcasing young and emerging artists and the museum’s signature Made in L.A. biennial. Also under Philbin’s leadership, the Hammer has developed a robust calendar of more than 300 free public programs per year spotlighting many of the most provocative and creative thinkers of our time. The museum functions as a lively cultural center at the middle of one of the most creative cities in the world – and admission is FREE to all. Prior to her arrival at the Hammer Museum, Philbin was director of The Drawing Center in New York for nine years where she introduced the work of hundreds of emerging artists through its much-lauded viewing program as well as curated and presented major contemporary and historical drawing exhibitions. Philbin serves on the board of the Foundation for Arts Initiatives (FfAI) and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2020.


Lisa Phillips has been the Toby Devan Lewis Director of the New Museum since 1999. During her tenure she has dramatically expanded the Museum, its Board, staff, attendance, and budget, and continues to diversify its leadership and audience. Phillips spearheaded and realized the Museum’s first dedicated building (2007) designed by the leading architects SANAA, who subsequently won the Pritzker Prize. In so doing, she established the Museum as a top international cultural destination with a critically acclaimed exhibition program rivaling the best in the world. Phillips also co-founded NEW INC (2014), the first museum-led incubator for cultural creatives. She is currently leading a second building expansion by OMA/Shohei Shigematsu and Rem Koolhaas.

Previously Phillips was a curator at the Whitney Museum, where she organized mid-career surveys of Cindy Sherman, Richard Prince, and Terry Winters, as well as thematic exhibitions, including “ High Styles: 20th Century American Design” (1985); “Image World: Art and Media Culture” (1989); “Beat Culture and the New America” (1995); and “The American Century” (1999); among many others. She has authored over thirty books, lectured extensively around the world, was on the Fulbright Review Committee, and was a visiting critic at Yale University. She has been named a “Top New Yorker” by  New York Magazine, “Top 100 Business Women of the Year” by  Crain’s, and “Most Creative People in Business” by  Fast Company.

What is an Action Maverick?

An original. A person that breaks the rules, re-interprets or establishes new parameters of their craft. New artistic, educational, scientific visions. A risk taker. A hero.

Action Mavericks Honorees

2023 Lauren Hutton
2022 Kathy Nobles
2021 Cynthia Nixon and Christine Marinoni
2020 Joshua Ramus
2019 Nona Hendryx and Barbara Hillary
2018 Billie Jean King & Ilana Kloss
2017 Neil A. Mazzella
2016 Laurie Anderson
2015 Dean Potter

2014 Bill T. Jones & Bjorn Amelan
2013 Snohetta
2012 Bettina Drummond
2011 Diana Nyad
2010 Trisha Brown
2009 Cheryl Stearns
2008 Hugh Herr
2007 Noe and Ivan Espana
2006 Philippe Petit
2005 John and Sage Cowles